9 Comments
author

I like to look for small "independences" and let them compound. Clearing my calendar for the day, going for a long run, even making a slow dinner. The biggest opportunity for me on this front is doing a quarterly "offsite" on my own. Something that I keep thinking about and keep failing to do. Putting it on the calendar now :)

Expand full comment
author

I'll answer this from the perspective of independence daily, weekly, monthly and yearly.

Daily: getting up early. Very early. I usually get a full hour, sometimes two, before anyone else is up. It allows me to be independent in my thoughts and in my actions or to simply read in silence.

Weekly: working out. Though this has become a daily habit, the fact that that I carve out time alone (ok, sometimes with running buddies, or in a spin class), is vital to feeling like an independent individual.

Monthly: I try to give myself at least an afternoon, if not a full day, alone. Away from my wife and kids. This hasn't happened as much lately, so I can do a better job of this.

Yearly: I've mentioned this a few times, and plan to dive into it in a future post, but at least once a year, my wife and I each take separate vacations, alone, sans kids. I have a trip to see Phish in August followed by a weekend with my brother and my wife was recently in California for an extended weekend. The time to reset and do exactly what I want without any guilt, has been a tremendous help to both of us.

Oh, and on July 4th, I plan on celebrating our countries independence by doing what I'm calling a Life Time Sprint Quad: 750m swim in the pool, 20k ride on the Stages bike, 5k run on the treadmill, and 15+ minutes in the whirlpool. Anyone care to virtually join me?

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2021Liked by Jeremy Keim

Independence: Pedaling for it.

It’s a refreshing, New England fall afternoon. Bluebird skies. Gentle breeze. I am 20 miles into a bike ride. Not a “I need to get my miles in” kinda ride, but a ride that makes me feel like I am on an adventure without a care in the world. My senses are heightened, breath is in perfect rhythm and adrenaline is pumping throughout my body. My mind is lulled into this blissful place where deep self reflection can take place. An overwhelming feeling of gratitude, sense of purpose and pure FREEDOM flood my body and mind.

I want to ride my bicycle

I want to ride it where I like

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2021Liked by Jeremy Keim

Great Topic. For me, I like to celebrate my own independence with my wife, kids, dogs and friends. Cooking food, gathering with friends and enjoying the outdoors. This year all my kids will be home and we will have my mom together. We are fortunate to live in a country that provides that freedom and liberty for individuals to celebrate independence.

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2021Liked by Jeremy Keim

I reflect on how grateful I am for my independence. From a very young age until today, I've been fortune enough to have the ability to choose to do whatever I've wanted and be whomever I've wanted to be. I was lucky enough to have been born in Jericho, NY instead of South Sudan, Africa. I was born with two legs, two arms, decent looks, and a brain that functions just fine. Independence is a privilege I will try never to take for granted - easier said than done.

Expand full comment